Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services – the curriculum

The flexibility and modular study architecture represents the USP of the Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services. The curriculum is divided into compulsory (Core) and elective areas (Electives), which are offered either in German or English. You select those fields of competence and study modules that offer you the greatest benefit for your management activities.

The study architecture

The curriculum of the Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services consists of three parts: all participants complete the HSG Executive Diploma Insurance Management as a mandatory program (Core). The Insurance Masterclass is also mandatory and will be completed with your master thesis (Core). In the electives section, you have the opportunity to choose your major depending on your personal and professional goals. Participants who have already completed a part (Core or Elective) of the curriculum in the past may receive credit for this part.

Over a period of 16 months, the HSG Executive Diploma Insurance Management offers a comprehensive and practice-oriented in-depth study of relevant and current topics in the Insurance Economics. As a result, participants achieve a holistic, cross-functional understanding of risk and insurance management and are able to understand the interrelationships and apply insurance skills with impact. This subprogram of the Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services comprises the following six modules (30 ECTS):

  • Strategic Management in Insurance Economics
  • Innovative business models and value creation strategies
  • Creation of customer value and consolidation of the customer relationship
  • Strategic process management in the insurance industry
  • Financial management in the insurance industry
  • Transformation and Leadership: Insurance Management in Transition

Building on the HSG Executive Diploma Insurance Management (Core), you can go deeper into an insurance-specific topic. For this purpose, the Institute of Insurance Economics (I.VW-HSG) offers two separate CAS courses (each with 15 ECTS). Alternatively, you can receive credit for a CAS course from another institute of the University of St. Gallen in the area of Financial Services. This flexibility allows you to specialize and sharpen your personal profile depending on your professional interests.

Have you already completed a CAS course at another institute at the University of St. Gallen in the field of Financial Services within the last four years? Then we can credit this CAS degree to you as an elective specialization (for CAS courses with less than 15 ECTS, additional certificates of achievement are required). This applies, for example, to the following HSG courses:

The third and last subprogram of the Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services is the Insurance Masterclass, which includes the academic examination of a practice-relevant topic from your everyday management life (Academic Research & Writing). In this module, you will develop the topic of your final thesis over the course of 6 months. All participants of the Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services are virtually connected in the Insurance Masterclass and meet for physical exchange and networking activities at the Executive Campus (continuing education center) of the University of St.Gallen. The master module is assessed with 15 ECTS.

The next start dates

In the Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services we offer you several entry options. You can start your Executive Master HSG with an industry focus on insurance either at the beginning of the Core part (in the HSG Executive Diploma) or at the beginning of an Elective (CAS Digital Insurance Transformation or CAS Customer Excellence & Behavioral Insurance).

If you have already completed the HSG Executive Diploma Insurance Management (Core) as well as a CAS course at the University of St. Gallen (Elective), you can register for the Insurance Masterclass (Core) to implement the final step in your continuing education project. You need at least 45 ECTS credits for admission to the Insurance Masterclass.

The next start dates for the study parts can be found here:

HSG Executive Diploma Insurance Management (Core)
February 19, 2023

CAS Digital Insurance Transformation (Elective)
March 21, 2023

CAS Customer Excellence & Behavioral Insurance (Elective)
April 17, 2023

Insurance Masterclass (Core)
January 15, 2024

Apply now and sharpen your profile!

Study regulations and statutes of the new Executive Master

Learn more about our institute and the professors

Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services – das Curriculum

Die Flexibilität und modulare Studienarchitektur stellt die USP des Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services dar. Das Curriculum ist in Pflicht- (Core) und Wahlbereiche (Electives) unterteilt, die entweder in deutscher oder englischer Sprache angeboten werden. Sie wählen diejenigen Kompetenzfelder und Studienmodule aus, welche Ihnen den grössten Nutzen für Ihre Führungstätigkeit bieten.

Die Studienarchitektur

Das Curriculum des Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services besteht aus drei Teilen: alle Teilnehmenden absolvieren das HSG-Diplomprogramm Insurance Management als Pflichtprogramm (Core). Die Insurance Masterclass ist ebenfalls verpflichtend und wird mit der Anfertigung Ihrer Masterarbeit komplettiert (Core). Im Wahlbereich (Electives) haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Ihren Studienschwerpunkt abhängig von Ihren persönlichen und beruflichen Zielsetzungen zu wählen. Teilnehmende, welche bereits einen Teil (Core oder Elective) des Curriculums in der Vergangenheit absolviert haben, können sich diesen anrechnen lassen.

Das HSG-Diplomprogramm Insurance Management bietet über einen Zeitraum von 16 Monaten eine umfassende und praxisorientierte Vertiefung in relevanten und aktuellen Themenbereichen der Versicherungswirtschaft. Die Teilnehmenden erreichen dadurch ein ganzheitliches, bereichsübergreifendes Verständnis von Risiko- und Versicherungsmanagement und sind in der Lage, die Zusammenhänge zu verstehen und die versicherungstechnischen Skills mit Wirkung einzusetzen. Dieses Teilprogramm des Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services umfasst die folgenden sechs Themenmodule (30 ECTS):

  • Strategisches Management in der Versicherungswirtschaft
  • Innovative Geschäftsmodelle und Wertschöpfungsstrategien
  • Schaffung von Kundennutzen und Festigung der Kundenbeziehung
  • Strategisches Prozessmanagement in der Versicherungsbranche
  • Finanzielle Führung in der Assekuranz
  • Transformation und Leadership: Versicherungsmanagement im Wandel

Aufbauend auf dem HSG-Diplomprogramm Insurance Management (Core) können Sie sich in einem versicherungsspezifischen Thema vertiefen. Hierzu bietet das Institut für Versicherungswirtschaft (I.VW-HSG) zwei eigene CAS-Lehrgänge (mit je 15 ECTS) an. Alternativ können Sie sich einen CAS-Lehrgang aus einem anderen HSG-Institut im Bereich Financial Services anrechnen lassen. Diese Flexibilität erlaubt es Ihnen, sich zu spezialisieren und abhängig von Ihren beruflichen Interessen Ihr persönliches Profil zu schärfen.

Sie haben bereits einen CAS-Lehrgang an einem anderen HSG-Institut im Bereich Financial Services innerhalb der letzten vier Jahre absolviert? Dann können wir Ihnen diesen CAS-Abschluss als Wahl-Vertiefung anrechnen (bei CAS-Lehrgängen mit weniger als 15 ECTS sind zusätzliche Leistungsnachweise erforderlich). Dies gilt z.B. für die folgenden HSG-Lehrgänge:

Das dritte und letzte Teilprogramm des Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services ist die Insurance Masterclass, welche die wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit einem praxisrelevanten Thema aus Ihrem Führungsalltag umfasst (Academic Research & Writing). Im Rahmen dieses Moduls erarbeiten Sie im Laufe von 6 Monaten das Thema Ihrer Abschlussarbeit. Alle Teilnehmenden des Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services sind virtuell in der Insurance Masterclass verbunden und treffen sich zum physischen Austausch und Networking auf dem Executive Campus (Weiterbildungszentrum) der Universität St.Gallen. Das Mastermodul wird mit 15 ECTS bewertet.

Die nächsten Starttermine

Im Executive Master HSG Insurance and Financial Services bieten wir Ihnen mehrere Einstiegsoptionen an. Sie können entweder zu Beginn des Core-Teils (im HSG-Diplomprogramm) oder zu Beginn eines Electives (CAS Digital Insurance Transformation oder CAS Customer Excellence & Behavioral Insurance) in Ihr Executive Master-Studium mit Branchenfokus auf Versicherung einsteigen.

Falls Sie das HSG-Diplomprogramm Insurance Management (Core) sowie einen CAS-Lehrgang an der HSG (Elective) bereits absolviert haben, können Sie sich für die Insurance Masterclass (Core) anmelden, um den letzten Schritt in Ihrem Weiterbildungsvorhaben umzusetzen. Sie benötigen mindestens 45 ECTS-Punkte für die Zulassung zur Insurance Masterclass.

Die nächsten Starttermine für die Studienteile finden Sie hier:

HSG-Diplomprogramm Insurance Management (Core)
19. Februar 2023

CAS Digital Insurance Transformation (Elective)
21. März 2023

CAS Customer Excellence & Behavioral Insurance (Elective)
17. April 2023

Insurance Masterclass (Core)
15. Januar 2024

Jetzt bewerben und Ihr Profil schärfen!

Studienordnung und Satzung des neuen Executive Master

Erfahren Sie mehr über unser Institut und die Professorenschaft